



## ISU Faculty Senate Agenda Monday, April 28, 2025 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Shirley Sargent Family Boardroom, 3<sup>rd</sup> floor Pond Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://www.google.com/url?q=https://isu.zoom.us/j/82564053789?pwd%3DyTfcgB4rvqpHpqpg 2j4Ul4H18F0u0T.1&sa=D&source=calendar&ust=1736613822007763&usg=A0vVaw2D6qG6abTriV -luRNPurLz

Meeting ID: 825 6405 3789

Passcode: 174961

In Attendance:

Attending by ZOOM:

Absent but Excused:

Absent:

**Ex Officio/Guests:** 

**Ex Officio/Guests Attending by ZOOM:** 

Recording Secretary: Lisa Hunt

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order and Welcome Remarks Amanda Zink [4:00-4:01]
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement [4:01-4:03]
- 3) Open Forum [4:03-4:08]

#### 4) Announcements (please review and feel free to ask questions) [4:08-4:15]

Senators: Please remind your constituents that **'Open Forum'** is for faculty to make a statement, express a concern, or ask the Senate to consider an issue they feel is important.

- a) Update on faculty incentives (rec center, games/events, parking etc.)
- b) **Faculty Senate and Councils elections** for the **2025-2026 term** are concluding. The list of seats that were up for election (or re-election, if eligible) are listed below. We will announce the elected members at the conclusion of this FS meeting.



# FACULTY SENATE 2024-2025

### i) Faculty Senate

- (1) CAL Fine Arts and Humanities
- (a) Paul Yeates
- (2) CAL FAH or SBS(a) Carmen Febles special election new term to end 2027
- (3) College of Business
  - (a) Bob Houghton
- (4) CoSE Math/Engineering/Physics/Comp Sci(a) Mikle Ellis
- (5) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci(a) Caryn Evilia
- (6) College of Pharmacy
- (a) John Holmes
- (7) Library
  - (a) Spencer Jardine
- (8) Idaho Falls At Large(a) Daniel LaBrier
- (9) Meridian At Large
  - (a) Dave Hanneman special election new term to end 2026
  - (b) Diane Ogiela

### ii) Academic Integrity Council (AIC)

- (1) College of Education
  - (a) Brenda Jacobsen
- (2) CoSE
  - (a) Taher Deemyad
- (3) College of Pharmacy
  - (a) Brooke Buffat

### iii) Academic Standards Council (ASC)

- (1) CAL
  - (a) Curt Whitaker
- (2) College of Education
  - (a) Robin Lindbeck
- (3) College of Pharmacy
  - (a) Jen Adams

### iv) Faculty Professional Policies Council (FPPC)

- (1) CAL Social and Behavioral Science
  - (a) Jeehoon Kim
- (2) College of Business
  - (a) Replacing Yan Chen (on sabbatical) special election one-year term 2026
- (3) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci
  - (a) Brandon Peecook
- (4) KDHS Clinical/Non-Tenured(a) LaVona Carson Andrew
- (5) Lecturer-At-Large (a) Vacant
- v) Research Council (RC)
  - (1) CAL Fine Arts and Humanities
    - (a) David Lawrimore



# FACULTY SENATE 2024-2025

- (2) College of Business (a) Tyler Burch
- (3) CoSE Math/Physics/Engineering/Comp Sci(a) Dustin McNulty
- (4) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci
  (a) Replacing David Pearson (on sabbatical) special election one-year term 2026
- (5) KDHS Health Professions/Rehab/Comm Sci (a) Tori Scharp

### vi) Undergraduate Curriculum Council (UCC)

- (1) College of Business
  - (a) Bob Houghton
- (2) College of Education(a) Ajit Bhattarai
- (3) College of Technology
  - (a) Mona Doan
- (4) KDHS
  - (a) Crystal Kanderis Lane

#### vii) General Education Requirements Committee (GERC)

- (1) CAL Fine Arts and Humanities(a) Jim Skidmore
- (2) CoSE Biol/Chem/Geo Sci (a) Anna Grinath
- (3) College of Technology
- (a) Elizabeth Quick
- (4) KDHS Pharmacy
- (a) Steven Stubbs

### viii) Standing Appeals Panel (SAP)

- (1) College of Education
  - (a) Ali Mondt
- (2) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci
  - (a) Caryn Evilia
- (3) CoSE At-Large
  - (a) Bruce Finney
- (4) College of Technology
  - (a) Phoebe Greene
  - (b) Duane Rawlings

### 5) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda – April 28, 2025 [4:15-4:17]

6) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval – <u>March 31, 2025</u> and <u>April 14, 2025</u> [4:17-4:20]

# 7) Consent Agenda – Approve council or committee actions/decisions (Click link(s) below for document(s)) [4:20-4:25]

- a) AIC Official Minutes April 8, 2025
- b) ASC Official Minutes April 18, 2025
- c) FPPC Official Minutes April 9, 2025



# FACULTY SENATE 2024-2025

- d) FPPC Official Minutes April 23, 2025
- e) UCC Official Minutes March 20, 2025
- f) APRVD UCC-2025-26 Proposal-001A COT-Discontinue BTC in UAS
- g) UCC-2025-26 Proposal-032A HONS-Honors Certificate in Civic Engagement
- 8) ASISU President Neelam Sharma and Vice President Jennifer Vidales introduction of new ASISU leadership for 2025-2026 [4:25-4:35]
  - a) New ASISU President Sky Halter and Vice President Charlie Medema
- 9) Report from the President's Office Jen Forshee [4:35-4:50]
- 10) Academic Affairs report– Laura Ahola-Young [4:50-5:00]
- 11) Ombuds reports Shannon Lynch and Chad Yates [5:00-5:15]
- 12) FPPC report Jeehoon Kim [5:15-5:25]
- 13) Old Business None
- 14) New Business (Click link(s) below for document(s)) [5:30-5:59]
  - a) Discuss draft of DEI/academic freedom statement with potential motion and vote
     i) <u>University of Idaho Faculty Senate Resolution RE: Academic Freedom</u>
     ii) <u>VERSION 1: DRAFT ISU FS Academic Freedom Statement</u>
     iii) <u>VERSION 2: DRAFT ISU FS Academic Freedom Statement</u>
  - b) Discuss draft of statement of support for international students and faculty with potential motion and vote i) <u>DRAFT ISU FS Statement on International Members of Campus Community</u>
  - c) Nominations for Vice-Chair, Executive Session discussion and potential vote
  - d) Confirmation of newly elected representatives
  - e) Nominations for one 4-year representative for the Athletic Advisory Board (AAB), potential Executive Session and vote
     i) Candidate materials are <u>here</u>
- 15) Adjournment [6:00]