



## ISU Faculty Senate Agenda Monday, April 14, 2025 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Shirley Sargent Family Boardroom, 3<sup>rd</sup> floor Pond Student Union Building, Pocatello Campus

Or join via Zoom:

https://www.google.com/url?q=https://isu.zoom.us/j/82564053789?pwd%3DyTfcgB4rvqpHpqpg 2j4Ul4H18F0u0T.1&sa=D&source=calendar&ust=1736613822007763&usg=A0vVaw2D6qG6abTriV -luRNPurLz

Meeting ID: 825 6405 3789

Passcode: 174961

In Attendance:

Attending by ZOOM:

Absent but Excused:

Absent:

**Ex Officio/Guests:** 

**Ex Officio/Guests Attending by ZOOM:** 

Recording Secretary: Lisa Hunt

- 1) Chair Call Meeting to Order and Welcome Remarks Amanda Zink [4:00-4:01]
- 2) Reading of Tribal Land Acknowledgement [4:01-4:03]
- 3) Open Forum [4:03-4:08]

### 4) Announcements (please review and feel free to ask questions) [4:08-4:15]

Senators: Please remind your constituents that **'Open Forum'** is for faculty to make a statement, express a concern, or ask the Senate to consider an issue they feel is important.

### a) Statement on Senate Decorum

b) Faculty Senate and Councils spring elections for the 2025-2026 term are in full swing! The seats that are up for election (or re-election, if eligible) for the 2025-2026 term are listed below (New terms end in 2028 unless otherwise indicated):



# FACULTY SENATE 2024-2025

## i) Faculty Senate

- (1) CAL Fine Arts and Humanities
  - (a) Paul Yeates
- (2) CAL FAH or SBS(a) Carmen Febles special election new term to end 2027
- (3) College of Business
  - (a) Bob Houghton
- (4) CoSE Math/Engineering/Physics/Comp Sci(a) Mikle Ellis
- (5) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci(a) Caryn Evilia
- (6) College of Pharmacy
- (a) John Holmes
- (7) Library
  - (a) Spencer Jardine
- (8) Idaho Falls At Large(a) Daniel LaBrier
- (9) Meridian At Large
  - (a) Dave Hanneman special election new term to end 2026
  - (b) Diane Ogiela

## ii) Academic Integrity Council (AIC)

- (1) College of Education
  - (a) Brenda Jacobsen
- (2) CoSE
  - (a) Taher Deemyad
- (3) College of Pharmacy
  - (a) Brooke Buffat

## iii) Academic Standards Council (ASC)

- (1) CAL
  - (a) Curt Whitaker
- (2) College of Education
  - (a) Robin Lindbeck
- (3) College of Pharmacy
  - (a) Jen Adams

## iv) Faculty Professional Policies Council (FPPC)

- (1) CAL Social and Behavioral Science
  - (a) Jeehoon Kim
- (2) College of Business
  - (a) Replacing Yan Chen (on sabbatical) special election one-year term 2026
- (3) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci
  - (a) Brandon Peecook
- (4) KDHS Clinical/Non-Tenured(a) LaVona Carson Andrew
- (5) Lecturer-At-Large (a) Vacant
- v) Research Council (RC)
  - (1) CAL Fine Arts and Humanities
    - (a) David Lawrimore



## FACULTY SENATE 2024-2025

- (2) College of Business (a) Tyler Burch
- (3) CoSE Math/Physics/Engineering/Comp Sci(a) Dustin McNulty
- (4) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci
  (a) Replacing David Pearson (on sabbatical) special election one-year term 2026
- (5) KDHS Health Professions/Rehab/Comm Sci (a) Tori Scharp

## vi) Undergraduate Curriculum Council (UCC)

- (1) College of Business
  - (a) Bob Houghton
- (2) College of Education(a) Ajit Bhattarai
- (3) College of Technology
  - (a) Mona Doan
- (4) KDHS
  - (a) Crystal Kanderis Lane

### vii) General Education Requirements Committee (GERC)

- (1) CAL Fine Arts and Humanities(a) Jim Skidmore
- (2) CoSE Biol/Chem/Geo Sci (a) Anna Grinath
- (3) College of Technology
- (a) Elizabeth Quick
- (4) KDHS Pharmacy
- (a) Steven Stubbs

## viii) Standing Appeals Panel (SAP)

- (1) College of Education
  - (a) Ali Mondt
- (2) CoSE Bio Sci/Chem/Geo Sci
  - (a) Caryn Evilia
- (3) CoSE At-Large
  - (a) Bruce Finney
- (4) College of Technology
  - (a) Phoebe Greene
  - (b) Duane Rawlings

## ix) Athletic Advisory Board (AAB)

- (a) One Representative, four-year term (2025-2029)
  - (i) Requirements for eligibility are linked <u>here</u>

## 5) Approve Today's Meeting Agenda – April 14, 2025 [4:15-4:17]

- 6) Faculty Senate Minutes Approval <u>March 10, 2025</u> [4:17-4:20]
- 7) Consent Agenda Approve council or committee actions/decisions (Click link(s) below for document(s)) [4:20-4:25]



# FACULTY SENATE 2024-2025

- a) AAB Official Minutes February 6, 2025
- b) AAB Official Minutes March 6, 2025
- c) ASC Official Minutes March 21, 2025
- d) FPPC Official Minutes March 5, 2025
- e) FPPC Official Minutes March 19, 2025
- f) <u>RC Official Minutes March 14, 2025</u>
- 8) Report from the President's Office Ryan Sargent [4:25-4:40]
- 9) Academic Affairs/Provost report- Laura Ahola-Young/Adam Bradford [4:40-4:55]
- 10) GERC report Ed Kammerer [4:55-5:10]
- 11) Continuing Business (Click link(s) below for document(s)) [5:10-5:30]
  - a) Academic Freedom statement GoogleDoc
  - b) Support for International Faculty and Students statement GoogleDoc
- 12) New Business (Click link(s) below for document(s)) [5:30-5:59]
  - a) Nominations are now being accepted for the new FS Vice-Chair for the 2025-2026 term. FS will vote at the next meeting Apr. 28
- 13) Adjournment [6:00]