

# FACULTY SENATE 2021-2022

ISU Faculty Senate Agenda

Monday, February 7, 2022 4:00-6:00 p.m.

Location: Join Zoom Meeting

https://isu.zoom.us/j/93311614308?pwd=OUFrbTBVWng5UUtMTDllQ2NuQlJOdz09

Meeting ID: 933 1161 4308

Passcode: 114735

In Attendance:

**Absent But Excused:** 

Absent:

**Ex-Officio:** 

Recording Secretary: Ann Medinger

**Open Forum:** 

Jasun Carr

#### 1) Announcements

- a) Spring Elections for Faculty Senate and its subcommittees is coming up in March
  - i) Time to start talking to your constituents about running if your terms are up this year
  - ii) Please let Ann Medinger know if you will be on sabbatical next academic year, so we can add your seat to the list for elections for temporary fill-in's.
  - iii) Faculty Senate meets every other Monday from 4:00-6:00 pm throughout the academic year
    - (1) Senators whose terms are expiring this year:
      - (a) Jasun Carr- College of Arts and Letters
      - (b) Jim Stoutenborough- College of Arts and Letters
      - (c) Dan Cravens- College of Business
      - (d) Tania Harden-Library
      - (e) Colden Baxter- College of Science and Engineering
      - (f) Mary Hofle- College of Science and Engineering
      - (g) Caryn Evilia- College of Science and Engineering
      - (h) Darren Leavitt- College of Technology
      - (i) Christy Sabel- College of Health
      - (i) Kent Whitaker- College of Health
      - (k) Anish Sebastian-Idaho Falls- At Large
  - iv) Research Council Members whose terms are expiring this year
    - (1) Meets two Fridays per month from 1:00-3:00 pm
      - (a) Tyler Burch- College of Business
      - (b) Dustin McNulty- College of Science and Engineering
      - (c) Jonathan Fardy- College of Arts and Letters
      - (d) Josh Woolstenhulme- College of Health/Pharmacy
  - v) FPPC Members whose terms are expiring this year
    - (1) Meets every other Wednesday from 3:00-5:00 pm throughout the academic year
      - (a) Kellee Kirkpatrick-College of Arts and Letters



### FACULTY SENATE 2021-2022

- (b) Andy Holland- College of Science and Engineering
- (c) Char Byington-College of Health
- vi) Academic Standards Council Members whose terms are expiring this year
  - (1) Meets the 3<sup>rd</sup> Friday of every month from 2:00-4:00 pm throughout the academic year
    - (a) Anushka Burde- College of Pharmacy
    - (b) Curtis Whitaker- College of Arts and Letters
    - (c) John Fitzpatrick- College of Education
- vii) UCC Members whose terms are expiring this year
  - (1) Meets every Thursday from 3:00-5:00 pm during the catalog cycle with a bit of a break in December and January depending on workload
    - (a) Joanne Toevs- College of Education- 3-year term expiring May 2025
    - (b) Steve Clay- College of Technology- 3-year term expiring May 2025
    - (c) Wendy Mickelsen- College of Health- 3-year term expiring May 2025
- viii) GERC Members whose terms are expiring this year
  - (1) Meets the  $2^{nd}$  and  $4^{th}$  Tuesdays of the month from  $2:30-4\_30~pm$ 
    - (a) Jennifer Attebery- College of Arts and Letters- 3-year term expiring May 2025
    - (b) Ben Crosby- College of Science and Engineering- 3-year term expiring May 2025
    - (c) Matt Wilson- College of Technology- 3-year term expiring May 2025
    - (d) Vacant- has been unfilled for some time- College of Health or Pharmacy- 2-year term expiring May 2024
    - (e) Vacant- has been unfilled for some time- College of Health or Pharmacy- 1-year term
- ix) BAS Committee Members whose terms are expiring this year
  - (1) Meets Intermittently throughout the semester
    - (a) Robert Houghton-College of Business- 3-year term expiring 2025
- 2) ASISU Update- Zane Webb (ASISU VP)
- 3) Student Affairs Update- Craig Chatriand
- 4) Academic Affairs Update- Karen Appleby
- 5) Policy News-Kellee Kirkpatrick/Libby Howe
- 6) President's Update-Kevin Satterlee
- 7) Guests
  - a) President Kevin Satterlee
    - i) Grievance Policy
    - ii) Q & A with Senators
- 8) Consent Agenda
  - a) Faculty Senate Official Minutes January 24, 2022
  - b) Research Council Minutes January 14, 2022
  - c) FPPC Minutes January 9, 2022
  - d) GERC Minutes December 14, 2021
- 9) Continuing Business



# FACULTY SENATE 2021-2022

- a) Faculty Count to ensure the appropriate number of senators are elected for spring elections
  - i) See applicable documents in this meeting's box folder

#### 10) New Business

- a) Be a Bengal Program would like a faculty representative for the committee to choose awardees
- b) Meetings will be held via Zoom
- c) This is a very easy lift
  - i) Per Stacey Marshall
    - (1) We are preparing for our annual Be a Bengal awards for 2021! We are hoping to have a reception on March 28 (if we are able to host in-person events) as part of our annual Employee Appreciation Week, March 28-April. This reception will be for all nominees who were recognized in 2021 in the areas of hope, trust, stability, or compassion, which are the pillars that we built the Be a Bengal program around. For more information on this program check out Be A Bengal | Idaho State University (isu.edu). We will recognize the 4 winners and all nominees at this reception. To assist us with choosing the 4 top winners out of all of the nominees for 2021, we are creating a committee consisting of faculty, staff, and student body representatives. The Lookout Credit Union sponsors this program each year, enabling us to provide \$25 gift cards for the monthly winners, providing support of the reception by providing the refreshments, and helping us put together 4 amazing baskets for the 2021 winners. We also have President Satterlee announcing the winners, either in person at the reception or in a pre-recorded video announcement of the winners to share with all of ISU. The baskets will include a 1 year reserved parking tag for the next academic year, and some cool stuff from Lookout Credit Union and ISU! The time commitment would be minimal, which would include a 2-3 hour commitment for reading through the nominations, choosing their own top 3 nominees, attending a one hour committee meeting to discuss each others' top choices, and helping the committee choose the overall winners in the 4 categories. HR will provide a document for each nomination in the areas of pillar of hope, trust, stability, and compassion for the committee members to choose their top nominees.

Staff Counsel has assigned a representative for this committee. We are requesting a faculty member to serve on this committee and hoping that the Faculty Senate could suggest a faculty member for this committee. We understand that faculty are extremely busy at this time and would greatly appreciate any help you could give us so that we have faculty representation on this committee! In the past three years, we have had a great representation of faculty winners for this award! Thanks for your attention to this request.

### 11) Adjournment